top of page

BLOG ENTRIES AND PORTFOLIO- ROST 370

Growing

IMG_5249.JPG
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2

CONTACT

114/A Via Massimi 00136 Roma, Italy

+393517777994

Home Office
Home: Contact

KIM Association- Journal Entry 5

Updated: Apr 14, 2020

Midterm


What did you expect at the beginning of this experience?

At the beginning of this experience, I expected to be challenged. I expected to grow, a lot. Growth in my language skills as well as my interpersonal skills. It wasn't until my first week that I realized how challenged I would be. I remember being so frustrated and upset with myself. I honestly felt like giving up. I felt that I was failing myself, or this ideal version of myself. I mostly felt I was failing the kids. Kids who were so far from home, also learning a new language. In the first weeks in Rome and of my internship, I went through a cycle of frustration with myself and my abilities several times.

On the other hand, I expected to have a lot of fun. As someone who had experience with kids who didn't speak the same native language as I do, I was excited to have a lot of laughs. I understood there were going to be challenging moments, but I was excited for the moments that made it all worth it.


How the internship fulfills your expectations?

I was, of course, challenged. Challenged beyond my expectations. Prior to obtaining this internship, I told Professor Cristiani how much I truly wanted to be challenged. Every time I had a moment of frustration, such as missing my train or not being able to communicate effectively, she reminded me of this.


I continue to be challenged in my internship remotely. Working to connect with my supervisor over email. This continues to engage my Italian language skills, with the support of a few fluent Italian speaking friends and classmates.


What is so far the most effective/interesting aspect of it? What is the least?

The most interesting aspect of my internship was my ability to communicate with the kids despite the obvious language barriers. Starting with the game UNO, I learned how to communicate using nonverbals and then in basic Italian. From there, I was able to work with the kids during Italian lessons. Every time I worked at KIM, I learned something new and interesting about the Italian language and how to effectively communicate with the kids.


The least effective aspect so far has been my ability to create a fundraising campaign. Due to school regulations, it is impossible for me to set it up myself and difficult to communicate how to set it up separately. It is something I will work to get effectively done in this upcoming week.


Is this academic internship improving your understanding of concepts that you learned from course-work in college?

As a non-profit management minor, this absolutely improved my understanding of international non-profits. It also helped me to further identify what classes I would like to engage with in the future. During my time at KIM, I was able to work directly with people of different cultures and realized how valuable language is. Language is currently part of my coursework and I hope to continue to integrate other languages in the upcoming years.


Further, as an Environmental Policy major, I have engaged with a lot of text and many discussions on providing resources to refugees and about migration. This is something I have come to understand so clearly because of KIM. If these kids don't have KIM, they may not be safe and healthy. The refugee crisis and mass migration are as much an environmental crisis as they are a humanitarian one and we must ensure we are treating the victims of this crisis with increased respect and patience.


Identify personal learning goals for your academic internship experience in the new remote setting.


1. Continue to demonstrate increased knowledge of international non-profits.

2. Identify ways to connect KIM Association and Loyola University Chicago.

3. Obtain remote working skills.

4. Connect with KIM Association Kids and Staff.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIM Association- Journal Entry 8

Overview In the past two weeks, I have found new and creative ways to connect with the kids and the community at KIM Association. I hope to implement these new techniques within the next two weeks. In

KIM Association- Journal Entry 7

Overview The past two weeks I have been emailing my coworkers and working to get in contact with past KIM Association Interns Challenges During this time, people have a lot going on. In working for an

KIM Association- Journal Entry 6

Overview This week, I adjusted to working remotely. I began the process of trying to reconnect with my supervisor and coworkers. I translated documents and worked on photographs previously taken when

bottom of page