top of page

BLOG ENTRIES AND PORTFOLIO- ROST 370

Growing

IMG_5249.JPG
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2

CONTACT

114/A Via Massimi 00136 Roma, Italy

+393517777994

Home Office
Home: Contact

KIM Association- Journal Entry 2

Updated: Apr 14, 2020

Overview

This week I was able to further identify the needs of those at KIM and work on a few of my goals for the week. I also identified that there are many moving parts at KIM. With this, there were a variety of people coming in and out of the house at all times. I look forward to getting to know these volunteers and employees more in the upcoming weeks.


Challenges

On Tuesday of this week, many of the kids were out of the house. This meant many of the mothers were at the house without their children. This brought with it a different feeling in the house. For me, this new dynamic took me aback.


Resolutions As one of my goals for this week was to get to know the mothers more, I took this opportunity of a changed dynamic to ask questions and engage. The mothers had Italian lessons, and so I worked with them on Italian. It felt we were all comforted in being together and learning together. So much of what I see as a challenge at KIM is a mental block as the mothers and kids are also learning. I was able to adapt to this sudden and unexpected change because I didn't let the little things impact me, and set goals for the week.


Tasks

1. Worked on set activities with the kids on Monday

2. Worked with the mothers on Italian lessons on Tuesday

3. Communicated with the mothers and kids in Italian with more ease

4. Worked with a few of the kids on English, in turn learning a little Arabic

5. Emailed campus representatives from Loyola University Chicago in regards to Fundraising

6. Donation box communication with Nadia, Rinaldo's workers, and Raffaela


Learning Object Progress

This week I focused primarily on learning objectives one and two.


1. As a result of interning at KIM Association, I hope to improve my Italian language skills, including daily communication during meals and morning activities.


I was able to work directly with the families and my coworkers in Italian on a variety of tasks. Although it is not where I wish to be in my language skills, I am happy to find small successes in daily activities.

2. Create a crowdfunding event that connects KIM association to the greater Loyola community.


I made a direct impact on this task by emailing my connections at Loyola and communicating this with Raefella.


Classroom Knowledge

This week we focused on reflection in class and talked more about if it was a skill we had, needed to develop, or enjoyed. Although I see myself as someone who has strong skills in reflecting, I do not enjoy the act of "casual" reflection


I recognize in myself the need for structured reflection, and so I look forward to continuing with this blog.


Upcoming

This upcoming week I hope to learn more about the kids and their mothers. Further, I would like to make strides with the crowdfunding event by connecting with resources at Loyola.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIM Association- Journal Entry 8

Overview In the past two weeks, I have found new and creative ways to connect with the kids and the community at KIM Association. I hope to implement these new techniques within the next two weeks. In

KIM Association- Journal Entry 7

Overview The past two weeks I have been emailing my coworkers and working to get in contact with past KIM Association Interns Challenges During this time, people have a lot going on. In working for an

KIM Association- Journal Entry 6

Overview This week, I adjusted to working remotely. I began the process of trying to reconnect with my supervisor and coworkers. I translated documents and worked on photographs previously taken when

bottom of page